American University of Central Asia - AUCA - “Rethinking of the 1916 Uprising in Central Asia”
Directory A-Z | Get Help Eng   Рус

“Rethinking of the 1916 Uprising in Central Asia”

International Scientific Workshop

Dates: 20-21 May, 2016

Organizers:

American University in Central Asia (AUCA)

French Institute for Central Asian Studies (IFEAC)

Aigine Cultural Research Center (ACRC)

Central Asian Studies Institute (CASI)

Venue: Hotel Plaza and American University in Central Asia, Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

The year 2016 marks the centenary of the 1916 Uprising  in Central Asia. The largest and by far the most violent national protest against the Russian colonial rule, the Uprising of 1916 remains one of the lesser known episodes in the history of the region. Its causes were rooted in economic inequalities and social exclusion imposed on the indigenous population by the imperial authorities. Its impact on the local society was profound as it disrupted the agricultural production, resulted in the refugee crisis, and led to an increasingly violent competition for dwindling resources between the colonists and the local farmers and pastoralists. Furthermore, the Uprising’s locale – at the periphery of the empire – and its timing – on the eve of the two revolutions that reshaped the political landscape of the metropole – make it a part of what Peter Holquist called “Russia’s continuum of crisis”.

We were seeking contributions from emerging and established scholars that put the uprising in a broader historical and cross-disciplinary perspective. Some of the proposed themes included but were not limited to:

The intra-regional dynamics of the Uprising. What role did the spatial distribution and the social composition of settled communities play in the timing of the conflict and the scale of violence? What are the differences between the farming and pastoral areas of Central Asia in terms of the organization and the impact of the conflict? How does the Uprising relate to the economic crisis caused by the World War I? What was the impact of the Uprising on the implementation of the Soviet nationalities policies in the region?

Personal and communal experiences of the Uprising. What were the gendered and/or ethnic dimensions of the conflict? How did communities on both sides of the divide respond to the conflict and describe their experiences?

Commemoration and remembrance of the Uprising. What are the practices of collective commemoration? What is the difference between state-sponsored memorialization of the Uprising and its unofficial communal remembrance?

Official representations. What was the Soviet view on the Uprising and how and why did it change over time? What are state-sponsored representations of the uprising in the recently independent countries of the region? How do the national historiographies of the Uprising compare to each other?

Arts and Literature. How is the Uprising depicted in the works of Central Asian writers, poets, artists, and filmmakers? What do the 19th century Central Asian oral and literary sources say about Russian settlers and colonial rule in the region? What was the fate of those thousands of Central Asians who fled to China and stayed on there? What was the Chinese reaction to the refugees?

Archives and Museums. The 1916 Uprising can be interestingly showed through archival and museum materials. How much the archival materials  on the 1916 Uprising of Kyrgyzstan and other Central Asian states have been studied? Are there museum materials on the 1916 event? How much these museum materials are used to reflect the local history? What kind of meanings do they represent?

 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии - АУЦА - «Переосмысление восстания 1916 года в Центральной Азии»

«Переосмысление восстания 1916 года в Центральной Азии»

Международное научное совещание

Даты: 20-21 Мая 2016

Организаторы:

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии (АУЦА)

Французский Институт Исследований Центральной Азии (ФИИЦА)

Культурно-Исследовательский Центр Айгине (КИЦ Айгине)

Институт центрально-азиатских исследований (CASI)

 

Место проведения: Отель Плаза и Американский Университет в Центральной Азии, Кыргызстан, Бишкек.

 

В 2016 году исполнится ровно сто лет с того дня, когда произошло восстание 1916 года в Центральной Азии. Наиболее массовый и жестоко подавленный национальный протест против российского колониального режима, восстание 1916 года остается наименее изученным эпизодом в истории региона. Причины восстания заключались в  экономическом и социальном неравенстве, которое было продиктовано коренному населению имперской властью. Влияние данной политики на местное сообщество оказалось очень сильным, поскольку разрушило существовавшее в регионе сельскохозяйственное производство, стало причиной появления беженцев и привело к насильственному переделу немногочисленных ресурсов между колонистами и местными фермерами и скотоводами. Кроме того, восстание произошло на окраине империи и накануне двух революций, что в очередной раз преобразовало политическое пространство метрополии, сделав ее частью того, что Петер Холкист назвал “Полосой кризиса России”.

К участию в конференции были приглашены как начинающие, так и известные исследователи и ученые с докладами, которые рассматривают восстание 1916 года в широком историческом и междисциплинарном контексте.

Предлагаются следующие направления, однако не ограничиваются ими:

Межрегиональная динамика восстания. Какую роль сыграло территориальное распределение и социальный состав оседлых сообществ на временные рамки конфликта и масштабы насилия?  В чем заключаются различия между сельскохозяйственными и скотоводческими регионами Центральной Азии в плане организации и воздействия на конфликт? Как повлиял на восстание экономический кризис, начавшийся после Первой Мировой Войны? Какова роль восстания в проведении советской национальной политики в регионе?   

Индивидуальный и коллективный опыт восстания. Каковы гендерные и/или этнические масштабы конфликта? Как сообщества обеих сторон реагировали на конфликт и описывали свой опыт?

Поминание и память о восстании. Каковы коллективные практики поминовения восстания? Как различаются практика поминания восстания государством и неофициальное общественное поминание?

Официальная позиция. Каково было видение восстания в советское время, как и почему оно изменилось со временем? Какова официальная позиция относительно восстания в новых независимых государствах региона? Как отличаются национальные историографии в своей оценке восстания?

Искусство и литература. Как восстание изображается в работах центрально-азиатских писателей, поэтов, художников и кинорежиссеров? Что говорят устные и письменные центрально-азиатские источники 19 века о российских переселенцах и колониальном режиме в регионе? Какова судьба тысяч людей Центральной Азии, спасшихся бегством в Китай и оставшихся там? Какова была реакция Китая на приход беженцев?    

Архивы и музеи. Восстание 1916 года представлено музейными и архивными материалами. Насколько изучены архивные материалы по восстанию 1916 года? Имеются ли музейные материалы по событиям 1916 года? Насколько эти музейные коллекции и выставки отражают местную историю? Какое значение они имеют?

 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028