American University of Central Asia - AUCA - MINOR REQUIREMENTS
Directory A-Z | Get Help Eng   Рус

MINOR REQUIREMENTS

 

Comparative Literature and Cultural Studies Minor

 

What is Comparative Literature?
The following description, from the Undergraduate Catalog of the University of Wisconsin at Madison, 2000-2001, defines the field of study.

Comparative Literature is a discipline dedicated to the study of literature in its many aspects without national or linguistic restrictions. The student of comparative literature may study problems in genre, mode, literary development, period or movement. The comparatist may also analyze the mechanics of literary form, as well as existing theoretical and critical approaches. Of equal importance to the comparatist are questions of the interaction of literature with other arts and disciplines. Similarly, the comparatist may study the political, social, and intellectual contexts of literature. In each instance, however, emphasis on the comparative and the literary will be encouraged.

Requirements for Minor in Comparative Literature
In order to qualify for a minor in Comparative Literature, the student is required to pass with a grade of C or better seven courses in Comparative Literature (21 credit hours). Three of the seven courses could be lower-level (100-200) and a minimum of four must be upper-level (300-400). At least one of the upper-level courses must be designated 400.

Course Descriptions

CLC 101 Introduction to Literary Studies
3 credits
Anthropological, historical, legal, political, and social perspectives on literature. Issues of race, gender, class, sexuality. Language and literature regarded as forms of social process. This course is the prerequisite for all other CLC courses except CLC 110, 111 (See below).

CLC 110, 111 World Literature (two semesters)
6 credits
Each of these two courses may be taken separately; i.e., they are not sequential. In addition, they do not require CLC 101 as a prerequisite and, therefore, with CLC 101, fulfill the humanities portion of the General Education requirements.
Major works of literature from a wide variety of cultures; as for example: The Pentateuch, The Bhagavad-Gita, The Analects of Confucius, The Tao Te Ching, Rumi’s Masnavi, Oedipus Rex, The Iliad, and also modern literature.

CLC 240 Women in Literature
3 credits
Fiction by contemporary women authors from the United States, Canada, England, Africa, and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, with three general themes: patriarchal oppression, resistance, creative self-affirmation.

Course Title

CLC 280 Literature of the Islamic Middle East

CLC 281 Classical (or Modern) Spanish Literature

CLC 282 Classical (or Modern) French Literature

CLC 283 Classical (or Modern) German Literature

CLC 284 Classical (or Modern) Russian Literature

CLC 285 Classical (or Modern) English Literature

CLC 286 Classical (or Modern) Kyrgyz Literature

CLC 310 Modern Drama  

CLC 330 The Twentieth Century in English


CLC 401 Nationalism, Culture and Identity
3 credits
A variety of texts could be used in this regard from German Romanticism (Schelegl, Schleiermacher, Fichte, Heredr), to modern theorists of nationalism (Gellner, Fanon, Anderson) to African, Asian and Latin American nationalists (Guevara, Galleano, Garcia-Marquez, Soyinka, Achebe, Gordimer, Gandhi, Naipul, Walcott, Said, Borges, Roy, Ashrawi).

CLC 420 Intellectual Prose Texts
3 credit hours
Darwin, On the Origin of Species; Marx, The Communist Manifesto; Freud, The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life; Kuhn, The Structure of Scientific Revolution; Ortega y Gasset, The Dehumanization of Art; Ellul, Propaganda.

CLC 450 Literary Theory and Criticism.
3 credits
Study of the texts of modern literary theorists of formalism, structuralism, post-structuralism, psychoanalysis, Marxism, feminism and cultural studies.

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии - АУЦА - ТРЕБОВАНИЯ ДЛЯ MINOR

ТРЕБОВАНИЯ ДЛЯ MINOR

Непрофильные дисциплины - Сравнительное литературоведение и культурология

 

Что такое “Сравнительное литературоведение”?

Нижеследующее описание в Студенческом Каталоге Висконсинского Университета в Мэдисоне, 2000-2001 гг., определяет область изучения.

Сравнительное литературоведение – это дисциплина предназначенная для изучения литературы с её многими аспектами, без национального или языкового ограничений. Слушатель сравнительного литературоведения может изучать проблемы в жанрах, стилях, литературного развития, периода или движения. Компаративист также может анализировать механизмы литературных видов, также как и существующие теоретические и критические подходы. Для компаративиста, имеют равную важность вопросы по взаимодействию литературы с другими гуманитарными науками и дисциплинами. Подобным образом, компаративист может изучать политические, социальные и интеллектуальные контексты литературы. В каждом примере, выразительность в сравнении и литературности будет воодушевляться.

 

Требования для завершения непрофильного предмета – Сравнительного литературоведения

Для того чтобы получить квалификацию по непрофильному курсу - Сравнительному литературоведению, студент должен пройти курс с оценкой “удовлетворительно – С”, или выше, получить 7 занятий по Сравнительному литературоведению (21 кредит-часа). Три из семи занятий могут быть нижнеуровневыми (100-200) и минимум четыре должны быть верхнеуровневыми (300-400). По крайней мере один из верхнеуровневых занятий должен быть обозначен на 400.

 

Особенности курса

 

CLC 101 Введение в литературоведение

3 кредит-часа

Антропологические, исторические, юридические, политические и социальные перспективы литературы. Вопросы рас, гендерного равенства, классов, сексуальных ориентаций. Язык и литература в отношении социального процесса. Этот курс обязателен для прослушивания всех других CLC-курсов, кроме CLC 110, 111 (смотрите ниже).

 

CLC 110, 111 Мировая литература (два семестра)

6 кредит-часов

Каждый из этих двух курсов может быть прослушан в отдельности; т.е. они не являются последовательными. Также, они не требуют прохождения курса CLC-101 как обязательного предмета, следовательно, вместе с предметом CLC 101, удовлетворяет требования по общеобразовательным предметам.

Изучаются литература разнообразных культур; например: Пятикнижье, Бхагавадгита, Литературные сборники Конфуция, Дао-Де-Цинь, Руми Маснави, Царь Эдип, Иллиада, а также современная литература.

 

CLC 240 Женщины в литературе

3 кредит-часа

Произведения художественной литературы современных авторов-женщин из США, Канады, Англии, Африки и Карибского региона, Ближнего Востока, в основных трёх темах: патриархальный гнёт, сопротивление, самоутверждение.

 

Наименование курса

CLC 280 Литература Исламского Ближнего Востока

CLC 281 Классическая (или современная) испанская литература

CLC 282 Классическая (или современная) французская литература

CLC 283 Классическая (или современная) немецкая литература

CLC 284 Классическая (или современная) русская литература

CLC 285 Классическая (или современная) английская литература

CLC 286 Классическая (или современная) кыргызская литература

CLC 310 Современная драма

CLC 330 Двадцатый век на английском

 

CLC 401 Национализм, культура и идентичность

3 кредит-часа

Разнообразие текстов может быть использовано в этом отношении, начиная с  Немецкого романтизма (Шелегль, Шляйермахер, Фихте, Хередр), заканчивая  современными теоретиками национализма (Гелльнер, Фанон, Андерсон), африканскими, азиатскими и латиноамериканскими националистами (Гевара, Галлеано, Гарсия-Маркез, Сойинка, Ахебе, Гордимер, Ганди, Найпуль, Волкот, Саид, Боргес, Рой, Ашрави).

 

CLC 420 Интеллектуальная проза

3 кредит-часа

Дарвин: «О происхождении видов»; Маркс: «Коммунистический манифест»; Фрейд: «Психопатология обыденной жизни»; Кун: «Структура научной революции»; Ортега-Гассет: «Дегуманизация искусства»;  Эллул: «Пропаганда».

 

CLC 450 Литературная теория и критика

3 кредит-часа

Изучение современных литературных теоретиков формализма, структурализма, пост-структурализма, психоанализа, марксизма, феминизма и культурологии.

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028