American University of Central Asia - AUCA - Undergraduate Program
PLEASE VISIT OUR COVID-19 PAGE FOR ALL UPDATES

Academic Divisions / Schools / Division of Social Sciences /

Anthropology, Technology and International Development Department

Undergraduate Program

Why study with us?

We offer one of the most innovative and comprehensive BA programs at AUCA based on the overlap between three unique fields of study: Anthropology, Technology and International Development. A degree in this major will expand your employment opportunities, introduce you to a complex way of thinking about contemporary societies, empower you with a set of multiple professional skills and give you an opportunity to innovate, create, travel, intern, engage and grow academically and professionally under the guidance of one of the strongest faculties at AUCA.

What is taught?

All students will take a set of core courses from all three fields, but individually they will have the option of choosing between three specializations.

  1. Anthropology and Archaeology is one of the broadest fields of study built on a holistic view of people’s life in the past and present that incorporates cultural, linguistic, social, religious, political and economic dimensions. We offer courses on theories and methods of anthropology and archaeology, on language, ethnicity, history, religion, kinship, family, economy, politics, migration, globalization and more.
  2. Technology - explores a complex relation between culture, society and technology. You will study how culture effects the ways people innovate and use technologies and you will learn how technology can transform many cultural and social practices and traditions. In addition, you will take a set of purely technical subjects of your choice from other AUCA departments.
  3. International Development - you will learn about the world of international development and about important role played by anthropologists as development specialists. Our diverse faculty takes an interdisciplinary approach to development; students will be able to take classes on economic and community development, environmental sustainability, governance, gender in development, and on many other aspects of development work.

What are the learning outcomes?

At the completion of this major you will have foundational knowledge pertaining to almost all aspects of people’s social and cultural lives and you will possess a strong set of research, analytical and professional skills. You will become a specialist, who can help create culturally sensitive, socially justified and innovative technological products and market them creatively. You will graduate with the knowledge of theory and practices in the filed of International Development and with specific skills necessary for the completion of development projects. 

Where do graduates work?

Depending on the selected specialization, graduates can find employment in a very broad spector of jobs that employ anthropologists, in the companies and organizations that need creative IT specialists, and/or in a wide variety of international and local development organizations, such as the World Bank, United Nations, GIZ, Mercy Corps, the Soros Foundation, ARIS, and hundreds of others in Kyrgyzstan, in Central Asia and worldwide. YIn addition, yu will have many opportunities to go on to graduate studies at the Masters and PhD levels in a variety of academic and professional fields. 

 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии - АУЦА - Программа бакалавриата
Перейдите по ссылке, чтобы ознакомиться с новостями по поводу COVID-19

/ /

Департмент Антропологии, технологии и международного развития

Программа бакалавриата

Антропология, технология и международное развитие


Почему я должен выбрать этот факультет?

Мы предлагаем одну из самых инновационных и всеобъемлющих бакалаврских программ в АУЦА, основанную на базе трех уникальных дисциплин: антропологии, технологии и международного развития. Получение степени по данной программе расширит ваши возможности трудоустройства, познакомит вас со сложным теориями о современном обществе, даст вам целый ряд профессиональных навыков и возможность заниматься инновациями, творить, путешествовать, стажироваться, вовлекаться и расти академически и профессионально под руководством одного из самых сильных профессорских составов в АУЦА.

Чему здесь учат?

Все студенты пройдут набор базовых курсов из трех основных областей, но индивидуально, у каждого будет возможность выбора между тремя специализациями.

  1. Антропология и археология - одна из самых широких областей науки, построенная на целостном взгляде на жизнь людей, который включает в себя культурные, языковые, социальные, религиозные, политические и экономические измерения. Мы предлагаем курсы по теориям и методам антропологии и археологии, языку, этнической принадлежности, истории, религии, родству, экономике, политике, миграции, глобализации и многим другим.
  2. Технология - исследует сложные отношения между культурой, обществом и технологиями. Вы будете изучать, как культура влияет на то, как люди изобретают и используют технологии, и вы узнаете как технологии могут трансформировать многие культурные и социальные практики и традиции. Кроме того, вы пройдете цикл сугубо технических предметов на ваш выбор из других департаментов АУЦА.
  3. Международное развитие - вы узнаете о сфере международного развития и о важной роли, которую играют антропологи как специалисты по развитию. Наш многопрофильный профессорский состав познакомит вас с междисциплинарным подходом к развитию; студенты будут изучать экономическое и общественное развитие, экологическую устойчивость, управление, гендер в развитии и многие другие аспекты работы в области развития.

Что я получу в результате обучения?

По окончанию программы, вы будете иметь базовые знания в сферах, касающихся почти всех аспектов социально-культурной жизни людей, и вы будете обладать полноценным набором исследовательских, аналитических и профессиональных навыков. Вы станете специалистом, который сможет помогать создавать культурно чувствительные и социально обоснованные инновационные технологические продукты и творчески подходить к их маркетингу. Вы получите знания в сфере междунапродного развития и обретете практические навыки работы с проектами по развитию. 

Где я смогу работать?

В зависимости от выбранной специализации, вы сможете работать в очень широком спектре компаний, институтов и организаций нанимающих антропологов и нуждающихся в творческих специалистах по компьютерным технологиям, а также в международных и местных организациях по развитию, таких как Всемирный банк, ООН, GIZ, Mercy Corps, Фонд Сороса и АРИС. У вас также будет много возможностей продолжить обучение на уровнях магистра и PhD в различных академических и профессиональных направлениях.

Диплом

Выпускники программы получат два диплома:

  • Диплом Бард Колледжа, акредиованный в США со степенью "Антропология, технология и международное развитие"
  • Диплом Министерства Образования Кыргызской Республики со степенью  "Антропология" с указанием одной из трех специализаций:
    • Антропология и археология
    • Технология 
    • Международное развитие

 

 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028