American University of Central Asia - AUCA - Graduate program
PLEASE VISIT OUR COVID-19 PAGE FOR ALL UPDATES

Graduate program

Master of Arts in Anthropology, Urbanism and International Development

Why study with us?

Our MA program offers students a path to an advanced academic or professional career in one of the three unique fields: Anthropology, Urbanism or International Development. A degree in this major will expand your employment opportunities, introduce you to a complex way of thinking about contemporary societies, empower you with a set of multiple professional skills and give you an opportunity to innovate, create, travel, intern, engage and grow academically and professionally under the guidance of one of the strongest faculties at AUCA.

What is taught?

All students will take a set of core courses from all three fields, but individually they will have the option of choosing between three specializations.

  1. Anthropology and archaeology is one of the broadest fields of study built on a holistic view of people’s life in the past and present that incorporates cultural, linguistic, social, religious, political and economic dimensions. We offer courses on theories and methods of anthropology and archaeology, on language, ethnicity, history, religion, kinship, family, economy, politics, migration, globalization and more.

  2. Urbanism is the study of how people live in cities and towns. Its main focus is on the interaction between people and urban environment. This interdisciplinary program offers you a large list of courses in urban planning, urban design, architecture, and urban anthropology, sociology and psychology. We will help you built your theoretical foundations in urbanism and develop a set of practical professional skills used by urban policy makers, governors, urban planners and urban designers.

  3. International development is a broad interdisciplinary field that studies how countries and communities develop in the contemporary global context. You will learn about the world of international development organizations and about important role played by anthropologists as development specialists. Our diverse faculty takes an interdisciplinary approach to development; students will be able to take classes on economic and community development, environmental sustainability, governance, gender in development, and on many other aspects of development work.

What are the learning outcomes?

At the completion of this major you will have foundational knowledge pertaining to almost all aspects of people’s social and cultural lives and you will possess a strong set of research, analytical and professional skills. You will become a specialist, who can understand complex urban settings and work on specific urban issues. You will graduate with the knowledge of theory and practices in the filed of International Development and with specific skills necessary for the completion of development projects. 

Where do graduates work?

Depending on the selected specialization, graduates can find employment in a very broad spector of jobs that employ anthropologists, in the city administration offices and urban planning/design companies, and/or in a wide variety of international and local development organizations, such as the World Bank, United Nations, GIZ, Mercy Corps, the Soros Foundation, ARIS, and hundreds of others in Kyrgyzstan, in Central Asia and worldwide. YIn addition, yu will have many opportunities to go on to post-graduate studies at the PhD levels in a variety of academic and professional fields. 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии - АУЦА - Магистерская программа
Перейдите по ссылке, чтобы ознакомиться с новостями по поводу COVID-19

Магистерская программа

Магистратура в Антропологии, урбанизме и международном развитии

Почему я должен выбрать этот факультет?

Наша магистерская программа предлагает студентам путь к продвинутой академической или профессиональной карьере в одной из трех уникальных областей: антропологии, урбанизме или международном развитии. Получение степени по данной программе расширит ваши возможности трудоустройства, познакомит вас со сложным теориями о современном обществе, даст вам целый ряд профессиональных навыков и возможность заниматься инновациями, творить, путешествовать, стажироваться, вовлекаться и расти академически и профессионально под руководством одного из самых сильных профессорских составов в АУЦА.

Чему здесь учат?

Все студенты пройдут набор базовых курсов из трех основных областей, но индивидуально, у каждого будет возможность выбора между тремя специализациями.

  1. Антропология и археология - одна из самых широких областей науки, построенная на целостном взгляде на жизнь людей, который включает в себя культурные, языковые, социальные, религиозные, политические и экономические измерения. Мы предлагаем курсы по теориям и методам антропологии и археологии, языку, этнической принадлежности, истории, религии, родству, экономике, политике, миграции, глобализации и многим другим.

  2. Урбанизм - изучает то, как люди живут в городских поселениях. Основное внимание уделяется взаимодействию людей с городской средой. Эта междисциплинарная программа предлагает вам большой список курсов по городскому планированию, городскому дизайну, архитектуре и городской антропологии, социологии и психологии. Мы поможем вам получить теоретические основы в урбанизме и развить набор практических профессиональных навыков, используемых лицами, определяющими городскую политику, городскими администраторами, и градостроителями.

  3. Международное развитие - является широкой междисциплинарной областью, которая изучает, как страны и сообщества развиваются в современном глобальном контексте. Вы узнаете о секторе международных организаций по развитию и о важной роли, которую играют антропологи как специалисты в этой области. Наш многопрофильный профессорский состав познакомит вас с междисциплинарным подходом к развитию; студенты будут изучать экономическое и общественное развитие, экологическую устойчивость, управление, гендер в развитии и многие другие аспекты работы в области развития.

Что я получу в результате обучения?

По окончанию программы, вы будете иметь базовые знания в сферах, касающихся почти всех аспектов социально-культурной жизни людей, и вы будете обладать полноценным набором исследовательских, аналитических и профессиональных навыков. Вы станете специалистом, который понимает всю сложность городской среды и может работать над решением специфических городских проблем. Вы получите знания в сфере междунапродного развития и обретете практические навыки работы с проектами по развитию. 

Где я смогу работать?

В зависимости от выбранной специализации, вы сможете работать в очень широком спектре компаний, институтов и организаций нанимающих антропологов, в офисах городских администраций и градостроительных и архитектурных компаниях, а также в международных и местных организациях по развитию, таких как Всемирный банк, ООН, GIZ, Mercy Corps, Фонд Сороса и АРИС. У вас также будет много возможностей продолжить обучение на уровнях магистра и PhD в различных академических и профессиональных направлениях.

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028