American University of Central Asia - AUCA - COMDEKS Project
Directory A-Z | Get Help Eng   Рус

COMDEKS Project

Landscape Baseline Assessment of ecosystems and productive lands of waterside zone of the Lake Issyk-Kul for the Community Development and Knowledge Management for the Satoyama Initiative (COMDEKS) project in Kyrgyzstan 

Donor: The GEF Small Grants Programme/COMDESK, UNDP

Duration: September 20 - November 20, 2013

Goal: Provision of a case study, conduction of consultations in communities, provision of participation of the stakeholders, determination of key sustainability indicators in socio-ecological productive landscapes, search for co-financing and drafting a COMDEKS Country Landscape Strategy in Kyrgyzstan.

Short Description: TSPC shall act to collect data on potential program partners, identify stakeholders, define boundaries of the project area;  select areas to assess the state of the landscape areas, sustainability of socio-ecological productive landscapes; run consultations with the local communities and conduct a country workshop in Issyk-Kul; finalize a COMDEKS Country Program Strategy, and have it translated into Kyrgyz and English.

  

The overall objectives of the project are to provide a case study, conduct consultations in communities, to ensure the participation of the stakeholders, determine key sustainability indicators in socio-ecological productive landscapes, search for co-financing and draft a COMDEKS Country Landscape Strategy in Kyrgyzstan.

 

Activities to be undertaken in the framework of the project:

  • Data collection on potential partners of the Programme, identification of stakeholders, definition of boundaries of the project area, data collection and analyses of information for compiling a list of meetings with local partners in the Issyk-Kul and potential partners of the Program;
  • Field trips of experts in four focus areas to selected areas in order to assess the state of the landscape areas, sustainability of socio-ecological productive landscapes, and preparation of reports;
  • Consultations with the local communities and conduction of the country workshop in Issyk-Kul;
  • Finalization of COMDEKS Country Programme Strategy, its translation into Kyrgyz and English;
  • Organization of a field trip of senior staff of the State Agency on Environment Protection and Forestry for familiarization with partners and mechanisms of COMDEKS Country Programme Strategy on the ground.

 

Background information on the Satoyama Initiative

The Japanese word satoyama means the hills next to residential settlements. Since ancient times, the Japanese would go to the forests of these hills to procure firewood, timber, medicinal herbs and berries, and hunt for birds and animals. However, in recent years, forests have been disappearing due to urbanization. The beautiful satoyama are gradually disappearing. Due to this, in various places around Japan, attempts are made for their revival - rebuilding coexistence of man and nature, combining traditional methods and modern technology.

The Satoyama Initiative is a proposal for the sustainable use of natural resources. The term "Satoyama" refers today to the traditional method of integrated use of natural environment in rural communities - not only in Japan, but all around the world.

Such way of life ensures sustainable use of natural resources and protection of biodiversity. The Satoyama Initiative encourages new insights into agricultural communities around the world where people have practiced wise approaches towards nature. A correct and in-depth approach to the land use aimed at ensuring conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity is particularly important for developing countries.

The Satoyama Initiative was formally adopted within the framework of the sustainable use of the Convention on biological diversity at the meeting of the parties (COP10) in October 2010.

Kyrgyzstan acceded to the Satoyama Initiative in 2013. The ecosystems and productive landscapes of the coastal zone of Lake Issyk-Kul have been selected as the pilot area for the implementation of the Community Development and Knowledge Management for the Satoyama Initiative (COMDEKS) project in Kyrgyzstan, following a decision by the National Observatory Committee of GEF SGP Kyrgyzstan of June 10, 2013.

 

Priority areas of the program:

In June 2011, UNDP launched a 2-year program in "The Community Development and Knowledge Management for the Satoyama Initiative (COMDEKS) in partnership with the Ministry of the Environment of Japan (MOEJ), Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (SCBD) and the United Nations University (UNU) for the sound development of socio-ecological production landscapes within the framework of the support for the Satoyama Initiative on the part of UNDP.

The main priorities of the program:

  • Natural resource use within the carrying capacity and resilience of the environment
  • Cyclic use of natural resources
  • Recognition of the value and importance of local traditions and culture
  • Natural resource management by various participating and cooperating entities
  • Contributions to local socio-economies

The main criteria for potential project proposals:

  • A compact community area;
  • The mosaic landscape where protected lands and land in use are neighboring with other types of land;
  • Compliance with the priorities of the program;
  • The existence of co-financing from other partners, including direct cash financing.

Social aspects of the Initiative:

Each project under Satoyama Initiative needs to take into account:

  • Improved management of natural resources.
  • Knowledge management.
  • The social component is the involvement of women, youth and other social aspects.
  •  

Useful links:

Satoyama Initiative Website: http://satoyama-initiative.org

COMDEKS Project website: http://comdeksproject.com

UN Convention on Biological Diversity website:

http://www.un.org/ru/documents/decl_conv/conventions/biodiv.shtml

 

Information about GEF/SGP

The Global Environment Facility's Small Grants Program (GEF/SGP) is managed by UNDP and is currently carried out in 54 countries. Because the program is an integral part of the corporate business plan for the GEF and a structural unit within the GEF/UNDP cluster, implementation of the GEF/SGP program is decentralized and management is undertaken at the country level. Since its inception in 1992, the GEF/SGP have worked to support community (local) initiatives meets the criteria and objectives of the GEF.

GEF/SGP:

Raises awareness and promotes achievements in the field of global environmental problems;

  • Enhances the ability of communities and non-governmental organizations in their response to these problems;
  • Provides a mechanism for the demonstration and dissemination of experiences gained at the community level and solutions to global environmental problems.

GEF/SGP provides proven approaches that can be replicated to benefit the global environment.

The GEF SGP website: http://gef.undp.kg/main_r.html

 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии - АУЦА - Проект COMDEKS

Проект COMDEKS

Оценка фонового состояния экосистем и продуктивных ландшафтов прибрежной зоны озера Иссык-Куль для проекта «Развитие общин и управление знаниями по Инициативе Сатояма (COMDEKS) в Кыргызстане»

Донор: Программа малых грантов ГЭФ/COMDEKS

Период: с 20 сентября по 20 ноября 2013 г.

Цель:  предоставление ситуационного исследования, проведение консультаций в сообществах, обеспечение участия заинтересованных сторон, определение основных показателей устойчивости в социально-экологических продуктивных ландшафтах, поиск софинансирования и составление проекта Страновой стратегии ландшафта для инициативы COMDEKS в Кыргызстане.

Краткое описание: сбор информации о потенциальных партнерах программы, выявление стейкхолдеров, определение границ проектной территории; отбор территорий с целью оценки фонового состояния ландшафтных территорий, устойчивости социально­экологического продуктивного ландшафта; консультации с сообществами и проведение на Иссык-Куле странового семинара; подготовка Страновой ландшафтной стратегии COMDEKS и ее перевод на кыргызский и английский языки.

 

Общей целью проекта является предоставление ситуационного исследования, проведение консультаций в сообществах, обеспечение участия заинтересованных сторон, определение основных показателей устойчивости в социально-экологических продуктивных ландшафтах, поиск софинансирования и составление проекта Страновой стратегии ландшафта для инициативы COMDEKS в Кыргызстане.

Деятельность в рамках данного проекта включает:

  • Сбор информации о потенциальных партнерах программы, выявление стейкхолдеров, определение границ проектной территории, сбор и анализ информации для составления списка встреч с местными партнерами на Иссык-Куле и потенциальных партнеров программы;
  • Полевые поездки специалистов по 4-м направлениям и подготовка отчетов групп в отобранные территории с целью оценки фонового состояния ландшафтных территорий, устойчивости социально­экологического продуктивного ландшафта;
  • Консультации с сообществами и проведение на Иссык-Куле странового семинара;
  • Подготовка Страновой ландшафтной стратегии COMDEKS и ее перевод на кыргызский и английский языки.
  • Организация полевой поездки руководящего звена ГАОСиЛХ с целью ознакомления с партнерами и механизмом реализации Страновой стратегии на местах.
 
Общая информация об «Инициативе Сатояма»
Японское слово «Сатояма» означает холмы рядом с жилыми поселениями. В лесах этих холмов японцы издревле добывали дрова, лесоматериалы, целебные травы и ягоды, и охотились на птиц и зверей. Однако, в последние годы, в связи с урбанизацией,  леса постепенно приходят в запустение. Красивые «Сатояма» постепенно исчезают. В связи с этим, в разных местах Японии предпринимаются попытки их возрождения, восстановления сосуществования человека и природы с использованием традиционных методов и современных технологий.


«Инициатива Сатояма»  - предложение устойчивого использования природных ресурсов.  Термин «Сатояма» сегодня обозначает традиционный метод разностороннего использования природного окружения в сельскохозяйственных сообществах не только Японии, но и по всему миру.

Этот образ жизни обеспечивает устойчивое использование природных ресурсов и охрану биоразнообразия. «Инициатива Сатояма» призывает по-новому взглянуть на сельскохозяйственные сообщества во всем мире, где люди мудро подходят к природе. Правильный, более глубокий подход к использованию земель в целях обеспечения сохранения и устойчивого использования биологического разнообразия особенно важен для развивающихся стран.

Инициатива Сатояма была официально принята в рамках устойчивого использования Конвенции о биологическом разнообразии на заседании сторон (COP10) в октябре 2010 года.

Кыргызстан присоединился к инициативе Сатояма в 2013 году, пилотной территорией для осуществления проекта «Развитие общин и использование знаний по Инициативе Сатояма» (COMDEKS) в Кыргызстане», согласно решению национального наблюдательного комитета Программы малых грантов ГЭФ в Кыргызстане от 10 июня 2013 года, были выбраны экосистемы и продуктивные ландшафты прибрежной зоны озера Иссык-Куль.

Приоритетные направления в рамках программы:

В июне 2011 года ПРООН начато выполнение 2-летней программы «Развитие общин и использование знаний по Инициативе Сатояма» (COMDEKS) в рамках партнерства с Министерством окружающей среды Японии (MOEJ), Секретариатом Конвенции о биологическом разнообразии (SCBD) и Университетом Организации объединенных наций (UNU) для рационального развития социально-экологического производственного ландшафта в рамках поддержки Инициативы Сатояма со стороны ПРООН.

Основные приоритеты программы:

  • Природопользование с учетом емкости и устойчивости окружающей среды
  • Циклическое использование природных ресурсов
  • Признание ценности и важности местных традиций и культуры
  • Управление природными ресурсами с помощью различных совместных и сотрудничающих заинтересованных сторон
  • Вклад в местную социально-ориентированную экономику

Основные критерии для потенциальных проектных предложений:

  • Не очень большая территория сообщества;
  • Мозаичный ландшафт – охраняемые и используемые земли соседствуют с другими землями;
  • Соответствие приоритетам программы;
  • Наличие со-финансирования  от др. партнеров, в т.ч., прямое денежное.

Социальные аспекты  инициативы:

В каждом проекте Инициативы Сатояма необходимо учитывать:

  • Повышение качества управления природными ресурсами.
  • Управление знаниями.
  • Социальный компонент -  вовлеченность женщин, молодежи и др. социальные аспекты.

  

Полезные ссылки:

Сайт «Инициативы Сатояма»: http://satoyama-initiative.org

Сайт проекта COMDEKS: http://comdeksproject.com

Сайт Конвенции ООН о биологическом разнообразии:

http://www.un.org/ru/documents/decl_conv/conventions/biodiv.shtml

 

Информация о ГЭФ ПМГ

Программа малых грантов Глобального Экологического Фонда (ГЭФ/ПМГ) управляется ПРООН и в настоящее время осуществляется в 54 странах. Поскольку программа является неотъемлемой частью корпоративного бизнес-плана ГЭФ и структурной единицей ГЭФ ПРООН, реализация программы ГЭФ/ПМГ децентрализована и руководство осуществляется на уровне страны. С самого начала своего существования, с 1992г., ГЭФ/ПМГ поддерживает общинные (местные) инициативы, деятельность которых соответствует критериям и целям ГЭФ.

ГЭФ/ПМГ:

  • повышает осведомленность и пропагандирует достижения в области глобальных экологических проблем;
  • усиливает возможности сообществ и неправительственных организаций в их реакции на эти проблемы;
  • предоставляет механизм для демонстрации и распространения опыта предпринятых на уровне сообществ и решений адресованных глобальным проблемам окружающей среды.

ГЭФ/ПМГ предлагает испытанные подходы, которые могут быть повторены с пользой и выгодой для глобальной окружающей среды.

Сайт ГЭФ ПМГ Кыргызстан: http://gef.undp.kg/main_r.html

 

 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028