American University of Central Asia - AUCA - DEMOCRATIC GOVERNANCE
Directory A-Z | Get Help Eng   Рус

DEMOCRATIC GOVERNANCE

 

Promoting Anti-Corruption and Transparency in Government

 

The Kyrgyz Republic in Central Asia – a small country of strategic importance to several of the world’s major powers – has come far in building a democratic form of government since declaring its independence in 1991, despite the disruptions of a revolution in 2005 and a second revolution in 2010 followed by significant ethnic conflict in June 2010.  A new constitution and a newly-elected president and parliament are now in place after a peaceful transfer of power from a post-revolution interim government. However, the country and all levels of government and society are plagued by corruption which, as in so many places in the world, destabilizes development. Kyrgyzstan is rated 164 out of 182 countries in Transparency International’s Corruption Perception Index: widespread corruption undermines trust in government, reduces the ability to raise tax revenues for infrastructure projects, cuts the potential for domestic and foreign investment, and most importantly curtails the nation’s ability to progress towards a society based on fair transactions and the rule of law. 

 

It is essential that the public officials be, and be seen as, free from corruption and self-dealing. Procedures that reduce corruption in the public sphere can do much to restore trust in government, set a standard, and an ethic that may be encouraged and replicated throughout society. Such procedures begin with a comprehensive system requiring the regular reporting by public officials of assets, income, gifts, and loans and by a setting forth a rigorous conflict-of-interest code accompanied by an efficient enforcement regime. Unfortunately, the Kyrgyz Republic has an ethics code for public officials that is very general and weak, a conflict-of-interest code that lacks specifics and has numerous loopholes, and an enforcement regime that lacks a mechanism for operation.

 

The Tian Shan Policy Center is collaborating with local NGOs and citizens’ activist groups to explore strategies to reduce corruption and to increase accountability and transparency in national government.  It is seeking to advance a research-backed public education program and multi-group endeavor to demonstrate the need for a comprehensive conflict-of-interest code and asset-reporting system for elected officials and high-level government appointees. 

 

Democratic Governance and Development

Tian Shan Policy Center closely works with the Coalition for Democracy and Civic Society and Union of Taxpayers for Parliamentarism in the framework of Democratic Governance and Development project. With the help of such cooperation TSPC is attempting to improve Parliament’s transparency.

 

About the Union of Taxpayers for Parliamentarism

Twenty-three public and business organizations and twenty-four civic activists interested in monitoring the Parliament’s work in order to increase the transparency and citizen’s involvement in Parliament’s work, decided to unite their efforts on the voluntary basis and created Union of Taxpayers for Parliamentarism (UTP).

 

The main goal of the union is to assist the work of Jogorku Kenesh in terms of effective implementation of legislative, executive and control functions on the basis of principles of Parliamentarism by increasing transparency, citizen’s involvement in Parliament’s work, creating access to the Parliament’s information, strengthening citizen’s potential for taking part in parliamentary processes, and improving parliamentary accountability.

 

 UTP implements the following steps for achieving its goals: 

  1. Monitors legislative function of JK KR in terms of compliance with the procedures and adoption of laws;
  2. Holds public expertise of law drafts;
  3. Monitors compliance with ethical standards of deputies of JK KR while exercising power;
  4. Monitors implementation of control functions of JK KR;
  5. Evaluates effectiveness of JK’s work;
  6. Monitors compliance of JK apparatus with the provisions of Rules and Procedures;
  7. Promotes culture of openness;
  8. Promotes transparency of information;
  9. Promotes easy access to parliamentary information;
  10. Promotes electronic dissemination of parliamentary information.

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии - АУЦА - ДЕМОКРАТИЧЕСКОЕ УПРАВЛЕНИЕ

ДЕМОКРАТИЧЕСКОЕ УПРАВЛЕНИЕ

 

Продвижение борьбы с коррупцией и обеспечение прозрачности в правительстве

 

Кыргызская Республика - маленькая страна в Центральной Азии, имеющая большое стратегическое значение для ряда крупнейших мировых держав - с момента объявления своей независимости в 1991 г. прошла большой путь в построении демократической формы государственного управления, несмотря на деструктивное воздействие революции 2005 г. и второй революции 2010 г., вслед за которой последовал значительный межэтнический конфликт июня 2010 г. После мирной передачи власти пост-революционным временным правительством была введена новая конституция, выбраны новый президент и парламент. Тем не менее, страна на всех уровнях правительства и общества поражена коррупцией, которая, так же, как и во многих других странах мира, дистабилизирует процессы развития. Кыргызстан занимает 164-ое место среди 182 стран мира в Индексе восприятия коррупции от неправительственной международной организации «Трэнсперенси Интернэшнл»: широко распространенная коррупция подрывает доверие к правительству, уменьшает поступления в бюджет, снижает потенциал для внутреннего и внешнего инвестирования, и самое главное - ограничивает нацию в ее способности двигаться в сторону построения общества, основанного на честных деловых взаимоотношениях и верховенства закона.

 

Необходимо, чтобы государственные деятели были и воспринимались свободными от коррупции и сделок в собственных интересах. Процедуры по снижению уровня коррупции в Республике могут существенно помочь в восстановлении доверия к правительству и установить стандарты и этику, которые бы поддерживались и воспроизводились во всем обществе. Подобные процедуры начинаются с внедрения комплексной системы, требующей регулярной отчетности со стороны государственных деятелей по активам, доходам, подаркам и займам, поступающих в их распоряжение, а также внедрения жестко регламентированного кодекса о конфликте интересов, сопровождаемого эффективным режимом его обеспечения. К сожалению, кодекс этики государственных служащих в Кыргызстане слишком не специфичен и слаб, кодекс о конфликте интересов недостаточно конкретен и оставляет многочисленные лазейки, а режиму обеспечения не достает механизма действия.

 

Тянь-Шаньский аналитический центр ведет сотрудничество с местными НПО и группами гражданской активности по рассмотрению стратегий, направленных на сокращение коррупции и увеличения уровня подотчетности и прозрачности в национальном правительстве. Центр стремится продвигать основанные на исследованиях программу государственного образования и усилия многих групп для демонстрации потребности в комплексном кодексе о конфликте интересов и системе отчетности об активах в отношении выборных должностных лиц и назначенцев на высоком правительственном уровне.

 

Государственное управление и развитие

Тянь-Шаньский аналитический центр в рамках проекта Государственное управление и развитие тесно сотрудничает с Коалицией за Демократию и Гражданское общество, а также  с Союзом налогоплательщиков за парламентаризм.  Посредством подобного сотрудничества ТАЦ пытается внести свой вклад в улучшение в сфере прозрачности парламента.

 

О “Союзе налогоплательщиков за парламентаризм”

23 общественных и бизнес организаций и 24 гражданских активистов, заинтересованных в мониторинге парламента  для повышения открытости, вовлечения  граждан в работу парламента, решили объединить свои усилия на добровольной основе и создали “Союз налогоплательщиков за парламентаризм” (СНП).

 

Основная цель “СНП” оказание содействия Жогорку Кенешу Кыргызской Республики в эффективном осуществлении законотворческих, представительских и контрольных функций на основе принципов Парламентаризма путем  повышения открытости, вовлечения граждан в работу парламента, создание доступа к парламентской информации для граждан, укрепление потенциала граждан на участие в парламентских процессах и  улучшении парламентской подотчетности.

 

Для достижения своей цели “СНП” осуществляет следующие задачи:  

  1. Мониторинг законотворческой деятельности ЖК КР на предмет соблюдения процедур при обсуждении  и принятии законов;
  2. Общественная экспертиза законопроектов;
  3. Мониторинг соблюдения  этических стандартов депутатами ЖК КР при осуществлении полномочий;
  4. Мониторинг осуществления контрольных функций ЖК КР;
  5. Общественная оценка эффективности  деятельности ЖК КР;
  6. Мониторинг соблюдения аппаратом ЖК КР положений Регламента ЖК КР;
  7. Продвижение культуры открытости;
  8. Продвижение прозрачности парламентской информации;
  9. Продвижение  легкого  доступа к парламентской информации;
  10. Продвижение электронного распространения парламентской информации.

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028