American University of Central Asia - AUCA - Migrant Stories

Migrant Stories

 

"I do not feel like a stranger in Moscow": migrants about life, family and children.  

I am Yarhan. For Russians Yasha. I am an ordinary person and my life is simple, so what to tell. With my brigade we are building houses, do repair works. Read in Russian ...


How to go to the UK and start own business

Every year hundreds of Kyrgyz people leave the country searching for better life. These are the stories of compatriots scattered around the world. They talk about the difficulties of moving, different mentality, peculiarities of life of other culture and how to succeed in a foreign country. Read in Russian ... 


 

Photo Gallery. “Dad will come tomorrow.” How the families of Kyrgyzstani migrants working in Russia live.

Dad will come tomorrow” is a photo reportage by documentary photographer Elyor Nematov, who has been working for several years on his project “I am a foreigner. Labor migration from Central Asia.” The reportage tells the stories of the families of migrants from Kyrgyzstan: the children, wives, mothers and brothers of those who went to work in Russia. The title of the photo reportage is taken from a sentence the children, waiting for their fathers, hear every day from the adults. Meduza presents Elyor Nematov’s project. 

Photo gallery...  


 

How labor migrants from Central Аsia build career in Russia  

Employers underestimate the talent pool of specialists and managers from Central Asia. Read in Russian....  


 

A story of businessman's migration

Earlier this year, I was approached by a businessman from Leipzig Dmitry M. with the questions on various topics. I asked him to write an article about his story of migration.  Read in Russian ....


 

Moscow. Girl from Kyrgyzstan creates a miracle

See the video ...  


 

Story of a one detention 

Kadyr Saidkasym is a labor migrant, he wrote sketches where the situations connected to migration processes described by different characters. The author of scetches titled those small and educative confessions as: "Story of one detention". Read in Russian...


 

The Story of a migrant who visited the detention center for "expelled - vydvorenets"

In recent years, among the labor migrants and in the country there are talks about the deportation of our citizens from the Russian Federation. So it touched me, an ordinary citizen  of the Kyrgyz Republic, a resident of one of the cities of Chui oblast.  Read in Russian...


 

My history of migration

The aim of our project is to tell about migration as a phenomena, as tendency or the issue. The destinies of come and go people are in the focus. Each migrant can tell his own history, which can be similar and defferent from the stories of million other people.  Read in Russian ...


 

"Travel banned" Kyrgyzstani returned home from Moscow

Maratbek Eshankulov, citizen of Kyrgyzstan who was almost for 2 years and 10 months banned to leave Moscow, at last returned home, to Kyzyl-Kia town. The lawyer of Eshankulov Filip Shipov who advocated the interests of Marat during the time of investigation and court proceedings informed about Marat's return to Vechernyi Bishkek. Read in Russian ...   


 

"The word" migrant "- a knife to the heart"

Tell us how you got the idea to establish a School of Languages ​​migrants? - I recently had the "Muzeon", about a couple of months ago, and the idea was born in January and February. Our promise is clear: we want, above all, to show that the culture of these countries are significant. It is not necessary to treat the Tajiks as wipers - they are carriers of the ancient culture. Read in Russian...  


 

Central Asian Migrants in Russia Find Religion

Central Asian labour migrants in Russia find that Islam offers a refuge that helps ease the difficulties of life in a foreign and sometimes hostile society. While some migrants find comfort and support from religion, experts warn that a minority are vulnerable to recruitment by fundamentalist groups. Read in English...


 

Uzbek migrants seeking payment of salaries through informal assistance fund

In May 2014, seven Uzbek citizens showed up at the "Fund assistance to migrant workers from Central Asia", who were owed payment for work on the building site. Migrants were employed informally and the employer promised to pay each 30 thousand rubles a month. But in an envelope. Read in Russian...


 

From Central Asia to Moscow, Riding the Bribery Express

There are three ways Central Asian guest workers travel to Russia, the magnet that draws millions of Kyrgyz, Tajiks and Uzbeks each year. The most expensive is by plane. Train is less pricey. Bus is cheaper still, but it’s also the slowest and most prone to scams from beginning to end. Read in English... 


 

 "Black List" or a "Black Hole" for migrants in Russia

Foreign citizens who do not leave Russia in 30 days from the date of the expiration of their temporary residence, are automatically entered in the list and will not be able to enter the territory of the Russian Federation for the next three years, since on the border the passport of a foreign citizen passport is checked for the absence of him/her in the "black list "and only then allowed to enter the country. Read in Russian...


 

The stereotypical image of a migrant in media

I have lived in Russia for the past few years. I often wonder why it is not easy for migrants from Tajikistan in Russia. Then I add some reasons to the puzzle and a picture emerges that fits the definition of "say a word about a poor Tajik." Read in Russian...


 

Lots of noise out of nothing

A 25-year-old Kyrgyz is being judged for allegedly double-crossing the border of Kyrgyzstan and Russia on someone else's passport. However, this passport is also in the name of Maratbek Eshankulov, the picture just does not reflect the way he looks today. Read in Russian... 


 

Heroes are born in hard times or another migrant story

I remember that I once worked for a magazine that was glossy and very popular in Central Asia. The editors asked me to write about successful migrants. You will not believe me, but back then I could not imagine where to find a successful guest worker. It is one thing to write about migration in general, and to see in Russia a native of Central Asia almost every step of the way, and quite another to see a successful and business-like migrant. Read in Russian...


 

After the violence, Moscow migrants deserve respect

Of Russia's 12 million immigrants, about 2-3 million of them live in Moscow, according to the U.N. It's a high proportion for a city of 11 million people.

In 2013 tensions turned violent with mass street protests and several killings believed to be motivated by nationalist sentiment. Read in English...


 

Central Asia: Governments Slowly Changing Approach To Human Trafficking

Several thousand young women are believed to be lured from Central Asia every year for purposes of prostitution. Governments in the region have been reluctant to discuss the problem of trafficking in humans, pretending the issue does not exist in their countries...However, recent decisions by both Kazakhstan and Tajikistan to amend relevant articles in their criminal codes indicate the governments are changing their approach to the issue. Read in English...


 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии - АУЦА - Живые истории мигрантов

Живые истории мигрантов

 

"Я не чувствую себя чужим в Москве": мигранты о жизни, семье и детях.  

Меня Ярхан зовут. Для русских Яша. Я обычный человек и жизнь у меня простая, чего рассказывать. Со своей бригадой строим дома, делаем отделку, ремонтируем. Читать полностью ...

 


Как уехать в Великобританию и открыть свой бизнес

Ежегодно сотни кыргызстанцев покидают нашу страну в поисках лучшей жизни. Это истории соотечественников, которых разбросало по всему миру. Они рассказывают о трудностях переезда, другом менталитете, особенностях жизни в другой культуре и о том, как добиться успеха в чужой стране.  Читать полностью ...

 


Папа придет завтра Как живут семьи киргизских мигрантов, уехавших в Россию. Фотогалерея

 

«Папа придет завтра» — фотоистория из большого проекта «Я иностранец. Трудовая миграция из Средней Азии», над которым на протяжении нескольких лет работал фотограф-документалист Эльёр Нематов. Она рассказывает о семьях мигрантов из Киргизии — детях, женах, матерях и братьях тех, кто уехал работать в Россию. В название фотоистории вынесена фраза, которую дети, ждущие своих отцов, ежедневно слышат от взрослых. «Медуза» представляет проект Эльёра Нематова.

Смотреть фотогалерею...  


 

Как трудовые мигранты из Средней Азии делают карьеру в России 

Работодатели недооценивают кадровый резерв специалистов и управленцев из Средней Азии. Читать полностью ....  


 

История миграции бизнесмена

В начале года ко мне обратился предприниматель из Лейпцига Дмитрий М. с вопросами по различным темам. Я, в свою очередь, попросил написать статью в раздел историй миграции. Читать полностью ....  


 

Москва. Девушка из Киргизии творит чудо со своими руками

Смотреть видео ....  


 

История одного задержания 

Звенья одной цепи 

Трудовой мигрант Кадыр Саидкасым  написал очерк, в котором словами отдельных персонажей описываются ситуации, связанные с миграционным процессом. Обобщенно автор озаглавил эти маленькие взаимосвязанные и поучительные исповеди - «История одного задержания». Читать полностью ...


  

История одного мигранта, побывавшего в спецприемнике для "выдворенцев"

В последнее время среди трудовых мигрантов, да и в целом стране много говорят о выдворении наших граждан из РФ. И вот это коснулось меня, рядового гражданина Кыргызской Республики, жителя одного из городов Чуйской области. Читать полностью:


 

Моя история миграции

Наш проект не нацелен рассказывать о миграции как явлении, тенденции или проблеме. В фокусе - человеческие судьбы случайных людей. Каждый мигрант может рассказать свою историю, одновременно похожую и отличную от историй миллионов других. Читать полностью ...


 

"Невыездной" кыргызстанец вернулся из Москвы

Гражданин Кыргызстана Маратбек Эшанкулов, почти 2 года и 10 месяцев не имевший возможности покинуть Москву, наконец вернулся домой, в город Кызыл-Кия. Об этом "ВБ" сообщил адвокат Эшанкулова Филипп Шишов, на протяжении всего минувшего времени отстаивавший интересы Маратбека во время следствия и судебных процессов. Читать полностью ...  


 

«Слово “мигрант” — это ножом по сердцу»

Расскажите: как вам пришла идея создать Школу языков мигрантов? — Я недавно пришла в «Музеон», приблизительно пару месяцев назад, а идея возникла еще в январе-феврале. Наш посыл понятен: мы хотим, прежде всего, показать, что культуры этих стран значимы. Не надо относиться к таджикам как к дворникам, они — носители древнейшей культуры. Читать полностью...  


 

Узбекские мигранты добиваются выплаты неофициальных зарплат через фонд помощи

В мае 2014 года в «Фонд помощи трудовым мигрантам из Средней Азии» обратились семеро граждан Узбекистана, которым задолжали оплату за работу на строительном участке. Мигранты были трудоустроены неофициально, работодатель обещал каждому заплатить каждому по 30 тысяч рублей в месяц. Но в конверте. Читать полностью ...  


Черный список или "черная дыра" для мигрантов в России

Иностранные граждане, не выехавших из России до истечения тридцати суток со дня окончания срока их временного пребывания, автоматически заносятся в этот список и следующие три года не смогут въехать на территорию Российской Федерации, поскольку на границе паспорт иностранного гражданина проверяют на отсутствие его в «чёрном списке», и только после этого разрешают въезд в страну. Читать полностью...  


 

Стереотипный образ мигранта в СМИ

Я в России проживаю в течение нескольких последних лет. Часто задаюсь вопросом, почему мигрантам из Таджикистана в России нелегко. Потом складываю в пазл некоторые причины, и вырисовывается картина, которая подошла бы под определение «о бедном таджике замолвите слово». Читать полностью...  


 

Много шума из ничего

25-летнего киргиза судят за то, что он якобы дважды пересек границу Кыргызстана и России по чужому паспорту. Однако этот паспорт тоже на имя Маратбека Эшанкулова, просто на фотографии он не очень похож на себя сегодняшнего. Читать полностью...  


 

В труде рождаются герои или еще одна мигрантская история

Помню, как однажды я работала для одного глянцевого и очень популярного в Центральной Азии журнала. Редакция попросила меня написать об успешном мигранте. Вы не поверите, но где найти успешного гастарбайтера – я не очень себе тогда  представляла. Одно дело писать о миграции в целом, и видеть в России чуть ли не на каждом шагу выходца из Центральной Азии, и совсем другое дело разглядеть  успешного и делового. Читать полностью...  


 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028