American University of Central Asia - AUCA - TORTURE PREVENTION PROGRAM
Directory A-Z | Get Help Eng   Рус

 

PREVENTION OF TORTURE: ONE OF TSPC'S MAIN COMMITMENTS

Since 2012, the Human Rights Department of the TSPC has been working with numerous organizations and partners to facilitate strategic advocacy that can result in implementation of legislative, judicial and other practical reforms to hold officials accountable for torture, ill-treatment, and human rights abuses. Among the main partners, the TSPC has collaborated with the European Union (EU), the Organization for Security and Cooperation (OSCE), the Regional Office for Central Asia of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), the Boltzman Institute for Human Rights, Penal Reform International (PRI), Physicians for Human Rights (PHR), Open Society Institute (OSI), and the Kyrgyz Anti-Torture coalition.

The TSPC, with the financial support of the EU, implemented two projects to support Kyrgyz institutions, including the General Prosecutor’s Office, the Ministries of Justice, Interior, and Social Development, National Human Rights Institutions, and civil society in their efforts aimed at eliminating torture.

Ms. Nikitenko, Head of the Parliamentarian Committee on Human Rights, Constitutional Legislation, and State Structure, and Dr. Zaharia, member of the UN Sub-Committee on Prevention of Torture, lead the discussion on the implementation of the recommendations made by the Kyrgyz National Center for the Prevention of Torture 

 

The implementation of the EU-funded project “Strengthening the fight against torture and impunity in Kyrgyzstan: Prevention, Accountability, Remedy and Reparation” in cooperation with the Boltzmann Institute for Human Rights started in February 2014 and will end in September 2015. The objective of the project was to provide support to State institutions, National Human Rights Institutions, civil society, and victims of torture to enhance the legal, procedural and institutional framework against impunity, to effectively carry out monitoring of places of deprivation of liberty, and to promote the right to remedy and reparation for victims of torture and their families. One of the outcomes of the project was the publication of the handbook “Tools and Legal Standards for Monitoring Torture and Ill-treatment in Places of Detention”.

Read the Handbook

The project implementation included 16 activities such as training, workshops, conferences, publications, and issuance of sub-grants to local NGOs. The press releases issued in occasion of each activity provide an overview of the actions.

- 03 March 2014: Launching of the project

- 17 June 2014: capacity-building training for the staff of the NPM

- 25 July 2014: Call for submission for grant proposals

- 12 September 2014: workshop on the development of proposals for the establishment of an independent investigative mechanisms on torture

27 October 2014: High-Level Round Table on Responses to the Reports of the National Centre for the Prevention of Torture and the Implementation of its Recommendations

- 06 November 2014: Capacity Building Workshop: Applied methodology for monitoring places of deprivation of liberty

- 25 February 2015: Conference on the consolidation of methodology and tools for monitoring places of deprivation of liberty and other relevant institutions

- 29 May 2015: Roundtable on the Right to Remedy and Reparation for Victims of Torture

- 04 June 2015: Training for Judges and Prosecutors to build the capacities for effective investigation and prosecution of cases of torture

- 22 - 24 Septmeber: Training course on digital security for NPM and NGOs

- 24 September: Closing event

 

 

 

The Kyrgyz National Center for the Prevention of Torture was established by law in 2012. With the support of the EU-funded projects implemented by the TSPC, the National Center for the Prevention of Torture submitted its first annual report to the Parliament in 2015. 

 

Under the framework of the first EU-funded project “Program to enhance the capacity of NGOs and institutions to advocate for implementation of human rights decisions and standards to prevent torture”, the TSPC conducted research and analysis on international standards and best practices for the eradication of torture and abuse during arrest and detention and published the “Final Report on Model Practices” issuing a number of recommendations to the Government to strengthen its ability to independently and effectively investigate allegation of torture and prevent further violations.

- Read the Final Report

Based on the outcome of a National Conference held on 28 April in Bishkek to present the final report, TSPC published also the policy brief “Preventing Torture: Investigation, Accountability, Monitoring” analyzing discussions and recommendations provided during the final event. 

- Read the Policy Brief

In April 2014, the TSPC presented the “Final Report on Model Practices” to representatives of the Kyrgyz institutions, including members of the General Prosecutor's Office, and civil society.

 

Other activities carried out under the project included desk and field research on independent investigative mechanisms, presentations, roundtable, and workshops on prevention of torture. The following documents represent the main outcomes of the project implementation:

- Press Release of November 6, 2013

- Press Release of September 24, 2013

- Read the Preliminary Report 

- Press Release of June 24, 2013

- Country Profile - Bulgaria

- Country Profile - Guatemala

- Country Profile - Jamaica

- Preliminary Recommendations on Investigatory Mechanism and Procedures 

- Preliminary Recommendations on Safeguards

- Matrix on Investigatory Mechanism

Matrix on Safeguards for the Prevention of Torture

- Matrix on Investigation Procedures

 

This material was produced with the financial assistance of the European Union. The contents of this document are the sole responsibility of TSPC and can under no circumstances be regarded as reflecting the position of the European Union.

 

 

 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии - АУЦА - ПРОГРАММА ПО ПРЕДОТВРАЩЕНИЮ ПЫТОК

ПРЕДОТВРАЩЕНИЕ ПЫТОК: ОДНА ИЗ ГЛАВНЫХ ЗАДАЧ ТАЦ 

С 2012 г., Программа по Правам Человека ТАЦ вела работу со многими организациями и партнерами  по эдвокаси деятельности, результатом которой являлись правовые, судебные и другие реформы. Такие реформы были направлены на усиление подотчетности органов в борьбе с пытками, жестокого обращения, и ущемление прав человека. Основными партнерами, с которыми ТАЦ сотрудничает  по настоящее время, являются Европейский Союз, Организация по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе (ОБСЕ), Региональный офис Управления Верховного Комиссара ООН по правам человека в Центральной Азии (УВКПЧ РОЦА), Институт по Правам Человека им. Людвига Больцмана,  Международная реформа в пенециарной системе в Центральной Азии, Врачи за права человека, Институт Открытого Общества  и Коалиция против пыток в Кыргызстане.

ТАЦ реализовал два проекта, которые были профинансированы Европейским Союзом. Эти проекты были направлены на оказание поддержки государственным органам, в том числе  Генеральной Прокуратуре, Министерствам юстиции, внутренних дел, социального развития, национальным правозащитным учреждениям,  и гражданскому обществу в их роли по усилению борьбы против пыток             

г-жа Н.В. Никитенко, председатель Комитета по правам человека, конституционному законодательству и государственному устройству, и доктор В. Захария, член подкомитета по предотвращению пыток ООН ведут сессию по выполнению рекомендации Национального центра Кыргызской Республики по предупреждению пыток и других жестоких бесчеловечных или унижающих достоинство видов обращения и наказания (НЦПП).

 

Проект, финансируемый Европейским Союзом ““Усиление борьбы против пыток и безнаказанности в Кыргызстане: Предотвращение, Ответственность, Средства защиты и Возмещение ущерба” реализуемый в сотрудничестве с Институтом по правам человека им. Людвига Больцмана  начался в феврале 2014 г., и завершится в сентября 2015 г. Основной целью проекта было оказание поддержки государственным органам, национальным правозащитным учреждениям, гражданскому обществу, и жертвам пыток в усилении правовой и институциональной защиты, в проведении эффективных мониторинговых посещений в закрытых учреждениях, и в продвижении прав возмещения жертвам пыток и их семьям. Одним из результатов проекта стала публикация руководства “Механизмы и правовые стандарты проведения мониторинга применения пыток и других видов жестокого обращения в местах лишения свободы”.

-Читать руководство

Проект включал в себя 16 мероприятий, такие как проведение тренингов, семинаров, публикаций, и выделение суб-грантов для местных НПО. Ниже представлены пресс-релизы по каждому мероприятию проекта.

Пресс-релиз от 3 марта 2014: Начало проекта

Пресс-релиз от 17 июня 2014: тренинг для сотрудников НЦПП по повышению потенциала

25 июля 2014: Заявка на получение суб-гранта

12 сентября 2014: семинар по разработке предложений по создании независимого механизма расследования по пыткам

27 октября 2014: Круглый стол высокого уровня по Мерам реагирования к отчетам Национального Центра по Предупреждению Пыток и Реализация их рекомендаций

06 ноября 2014: Семинар по повышению потенциала: Прикладная методология по мониторингу мест лишения свободы.

25 февраля 2015: Конференция «На пути к консолидации  единой методологии и инструментария для мониторинга мест лишения свободы и других закрытых учреждений»

29 мая 2015: Круглый стол на тему «Средства защиты и возмещение ущерба жертвам пыток»

04 июня 2015: Тренинг для судей и прокуроров: укрепление потенциала в области  эффективного  расследования и введения дел по пыткам

- 22-23 сентября 2015: Тренинг по информационной безопасности для НЦПП и НПО

- 24 сентября: Мероприятие по случаю завершение проекта

 

Национальный центр Кыргызской Республики по предупреждению пыток и других жестоких бесчеловечных или унижающих достоинство видов обращения и наказания (НЦПП) был создан в 2012г. При поддержке ТАЦ, и реализуемого проекта от Европейского Союза, НЦПП  предоставил свой первый годовой отчет в Парламент в 2015 г.

 

В рамках проекта, финансируемого Европейским Союзом «Программа по усилению потенциала НПО и других организаций в улучшении исполнения прав человека и стандартов предотвращения пыток», ТАЦ провел исследование и анализ международных стандартов и лучших практик по искоренению пыток и жестокого обращения во время ареста и задержания и выпустил доклад по Лучшим Практикам, в котором были представлены ряд рекомендаций правительству во вопросам улучшения независимого и эффективного расследования случаев применения пыток и с дальнейшими мерами по их предупреждению.

 - Читать документ

По итогам конференции, который проходил 28 апреля в г. Бишкек, ТАЦ опубликовал аналитическую заметку «Предотвращение пыток: Расследование, Подотчетность, Мониторинг», с учетом  рекомендаций и обсуждений, представленные во время конференции.

 - Читать документ

В апреле 2014 г., ТАЦ презентовал доклад по моделям лучших практик для представителей государственных органов, включая Генеральную Прокуратуру и гражданское общество

 

Другие мероприятия, которые были реализованы во время проекта стали научные и полевые исследования по независимым механизмам  расследованиям, презентации, круглые столы и семинары по предотвращению пыток. Ниже представлены документы по итогам реализации проекта:

Пресс-релиз от 6 ноября 2013 г.

Пресс-релиз от 24 сентября 2013 г.

Читать Предварительный отчет

Пресс-релиз от 24 июня 2013 г.

Профиль страны - Болгария

Профиль страны - Гватемала

Профиль страны - Ямайка

Предварительные рекомендации по следственному механизму и процедурам

Предварительные рекомендации по гарантиям правовой защиты

Матрица - Следственный механизм

Матрица - Гарантии по предотвращению пыток 

Матрица - Следственные процедуры

 

 

Данный материал был подготовлен при финансовой поддержке Европейского союза. Содержание настоящего документа являются исключительной ответственностью ТАЦ и ни при каких обстоятельствах не может рассматриваться как отражение позиции Европейского союза.

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028